Routine..

Come noon, I get a little rest after the rush of the morning matters and mentionings are over. Everyday, around this time, a hush falls over the place which is almost surreal. Don’t get me wrong, at any given point during court hours, there will be at least one lawyer, running from one Courtroom to the other, with his case coming up faster than a tornado approaches. I meant that, things settle in a bit at this time. As I sit here, in my chair, watching the people around either work or chat with their comrades; the thought that stuck with me was the humdrum routine of it all. It was a feeling of déjà vu; going through the same charade day after day; a feeling that it all had happened before, and then I realised that it hadn’t. That, the scene didn’t change, day after day. That, it was all different, yet somehow, the same. That, when I come back tomorrow, it will be the same, with subtle differences.

Yes, some people may find comfort in the known and regular. But the more I thought, the more I realised that I wasn’t one of them. I think, the reason I chose to be a lawyer, was because of the irregularity of it all. No two cases are alike. It forces me to think and face a different situation everyday. I thanked my lucky stars that I had law to give me adventure in the routine regression of the profession.

.. to save me from becoming faded.

Leave a Reply

